Taxes and Shiloh

I would just like to take this opportunity to say that my taxes are done. This is the earliest I’ve ever had them prepared! I can now get on with my life without having to worry about them in April, so there’s one less thing to stress about!

Now I just have to get a bunch of work done before deadlines and find NCOs for Shiloh at the end of March.

Right. I haven’t said anything about Shiloh, which is still a month and a half away, probably the reason I haven’t said anything about it. I went to a meeting last weekend, and while I was there, I was given command of a company for the event. My first thought was that I would have to brush up on both my company and battalion level drill instead of just company level. Then it hit me when I got home that I have to find sergeants and corporals for the event, too. It turns out that I was the only person who registered for the company who had offered to be a sergeant, and there was one other who offered to be a corporal, although he now believes he may have National Guard training that weekend. I have a very short list of people that I trust to be 1st Sgt, and so far, two of them have told me they can’t. I’m now down to my last couple of choices and fully expecting both to say that they are committed to other units for the event. On the bright side, I get to command a company for the 150th anniversary of the battle of Shiloh (or Pittsburg Landing if you prefer). It’s going to be great to not have taxes looming over my head while I’m there!

Explore posts in the same categories: Reenacting

Leave a Reply

