Mindset List: 2014

Beloit College in Wisconsin has created the Mindset List, a list to help professors know what references their students just won’t get, since 1998.  Since learning about this list, I’ve always found it fascinating to see what people born just x years after me just don’t know about.  The list for the class of 2014 is no different.  The first item on the list was not surprising: Few in the class know how to write in cursive.  That does not surprise me at all.  From my sophomore year in college until I went to grad school, four years later, I rarely used cursive writing.  I either typed or printed nearly everything but my signature.  In fact, when I went to grad school, I had to actually relearn some of my cursive letters because I had forgotten them.  (I still say that the cursive capital “Q” makes no sense.)

Also on the list is Clint Eastwood is better known as a sensitive director than as Dirty Harry.  Is that just because of Million Dollar Baby?  I have trouble seeing him as sensitive.  To me, he’ll always be waving a .44 Magnum around. 

Doctor Kevorkian has never been licensed to practice medicine.  If that was the case, what would they have put on Channel One news all those mornings for about two years?

They never twisted the coiled handset wires aimlessly around their wrists while chatting on the phone.  I’ve never done that either.  I always twisted it around one of my fingers.

Pizza jockeys from Domino’s have never killed themselves to get your pizza there in under 30 minutes.  I miss 30 minute pizzas – not that Domino’s ever offered that service to where I lived, 18 minutes from the nearest Domino’s.

Russians and Americans have always been living together in space.  That idea still seems strange to me.

Nirvana is on the classic oldies station.  That’s just wrong.

J.R. Ewing has always been dead and gone.  Hasn’t he?  Although I can never remember who shot J.R., I distictly remember that he was shot and that he was alive before then and not alive afterward.

The nation has never approved of the job Congress is doing.  Even I can’t remember when people approved of Congress.

If you want to read the full list, I put the link above.  If you’re lazy, here it is again.

Explore posts in the same categories: Growing Up, Observations

6 Comments on “Mindset List: 2014”

  1. Newt Says:

    I just looked at the list for my year (’02) and it was either wrong, or everyone else my age is a moron, with no ability to remember anything that didn’t happen yesterday.

    • Andrew Says:

      I could say something about your high school class, but there are a number of you that I actually like… and of course, you remember my class when we were freshmen.

    • Andrew Says:

      On second thought, I think they were just trying to get the whole Mindset List thing figured out with your class, because most of those don’t even apply to me!

  2. cocoaval Says:

    Newsflash! They changed the letter Q in cursive; it actually looks like a Q now!

  3. daisy-head Says:

    I just heard of this list for the first time yesterday. It is really pretty fascinating. Things that we take for granted that everyone must know…it would have never occured to me that EVERYONE didn’t know Clint Eastwood as Dirty Harry. Although, I do get a better sense of why my teenage niece gives me a blank look when I say things like, “Go ahead, punk. Make my day.”


Leave a Reply

