World Cup 2010: Part 3

I still haven’t gotten used to not watching soccer and hearing vuvuzelas constantly.  I have also not downloaded the vuvuzela app for my iTouch yet.  I went out to dinner and to listen to jazz at one of the local hotels on Tuesday.  Afterward, I was walking back through the lobby and noticed there was a US women’s (WNT) match on.  I almost sat down on the couch to watch.  I then realized it was after 10, and I was going to have a very long day ahead of me the next day.

It’s a little bit funny how a tournament for a sport that so (relatively) few people here care about can be so huge, only to have the sport fall back into obscurity again within days of it ending.  All the sporting news is about LeBron James’ media circus.  Professional basketball – Now there’s a sport that I only get into during tournament time, and even then, only slightly.  I’ll take my Wildcats and college basketball any day.  But until UK hits the hardwood – or even the gridiron – I’ll mourn the loss of good, televised, cared-about soccer.

Explore posts in the same categories: Sports

Leave a Reply

