the spring wither

I feel that I should post something entertaining and amusing or at least some tale of complete absurdity, being that it’s April Fools Day.  I just don’t seem to have it in me these days.  The warm weather outside seems to be sapping me of energy.  Tonight we’re supposed to be completely off book for Copacabana, but I only know the first half of Act II.

I know I’ve overstretched myself this year.  Serving on three committees at church wouldn’t be that bad, but I feel pulled to address both Youth and Worship things on Sunday mornings.  I don’t feel like I’ve been able to take care of either to the extent they deserve.  I know I’ll be able to pass one of those on to somebody else in two months though.  I imagine I’ll continue to work with the Youth, which can use a lot of time and, more importantly, energy, although I don’t think I can handle another winter/spring as busy as this one was.  Other things are trickier.

I got a letter from one of the other members of board of directors for the Ironton Council for the Arts a few days ago.  It stated that they are going to require members of the board to attend three quarters of the meetings.  With only eight or ten meetings over the last year, I came close to missing that mark after missing the last two meetings for Copacabana rehearsal.  I also missed three of the six concerts this season due to reenactments and I missed a fourth for the church ski trip.  I find this to be much more troubling.  I also don’t know how much difference there will be this year.

Added into the mix is the fact that I’ve enjoyed Copacabana much more than I had anticipated.  I had always wanted to do a theater show, and when this came along, I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to fulfill my dream before I continued on with my life, having checked acting off of my bucket list.  (Hey!  Acting is better than robbing a bank!)  I also thought it would be a great way to meet women, but there hasn’t been much luck on that front.  Now I’ve found that I really enjoy it, and I’m tempted to do it again.  Unfortunately, it interferes with many of the other things I enjoy doing.

Now here I am in the Spring just days from Easter, trying to decide what it is that I want to do and what I need to give up.  Having a second year like this one would simply be more than I can handle.  I keep living life like I did in school, but there’s no longer summer to rejuvenate.

Explore posts in the same categories: Acting, Church, Local, Philanthropy, Reenacting

One Comment on “the spring wither”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    That’s the rub. What to give up when you see the benefit in everything you’re doing. If you figure it out, please let me know.

    Looking forward to the show!!


Leave a Reply

