On planning an evening

I have Copa rehearsal tonight as I do pretty much every night between now and when we perform.  Since there’s no UK basketball game tonight and I still have a movie pass for Cinemark from a disastrous attempt at a Youth event, I was thinking about going to see a late showing of something tonight.  The movie pass is only good for until the end of this month, so I thought now was as good a time as any to catch a movie. 

I’ve been wanting to see Dear John, mainly because it stars Amanda Seyfried.  I went to the Cinemark website to see when it was showing and what else was starting late.  I noticed that Wolfman was still on.  I had absolutely no desire to see it when it came out.  I figured I’d wait for it to hit television and watch it then.  I’ve never been very big on werewolves with a few exceptions – most notably the episode from Series 2 of the new Doctor Who.  For some reason, I thought it might be fun to watch tonight, knowing that I’ll change my mind before I could actually get to the theater.  Surely it has to be better than Valentine’s Day, which was okay but didn’t live up to its cast’s potential.

While I was on the Cinemark website, I decided I’d see what was going off and coming on this weekend.  That’s when I noticed Alice in Wonderland.  I didn’t have much desire to see that movie in the theater either, but for some reason I thought I might enjoy it after all after seeing its listing.  I definitely won’t be watching it in Ashland though, because if I do end up seeing it, I’ll want to watch it in 3-D, which will require a trip to Huntington.  I was thinking that the movie would probably end up with a PG-13 rating, but I was surprised to see that it is only PG.  Even more surprising was the reason that it is “PG: For fantasy action/violence involving scary images and situations, and for a smoking caterpillar.”  I can understand being PG for violence and things that would be scary for little kids – like the Queen of Hearts and the Mad Hatter – but the smoking caterpillar: I find very amusing.  I’m actually starting to look forward to Alice in Wonderland, but only in 3-D and only not at full evening price.

Explore posts in the same categories: TV/Movies

One Comment on “On planning an evening”

  1. Newt Says:

    I’m so geeked out for Alice in Wonderland. Tim Burton and Johnny Depp always make me happy.


Leave a Reply

