exhaust

Fatigue is going to kill me, I’m sure.

I was about to make a post about how tired I am and how staying this busy is going to be the death of me.  Then I realized that I never posted the reason that I’m so busy.

In college, the theater department did a performance of Godspell.  I thought about auditioning and decided not to.  Ever since then, I wished I had.

In the fall, I saw that an old friend of mine from high school was going to be in a play at the local college.  I went to see it the last night of the run, and it was amazing.  I talked to her on facebook after the show, and she told me that I should audition for the next play, which was A Christmas Carol.  There was no way that I could do rehearsals and the performances during Advent, so I didn’t try out.  A few weeks ago, the college held auditions for Copacabana.  It’s a musical based on the Barry Manilow hit of the same name.  Most of the music was written by Manilow specifically for the musical.  I thought it would be fun and I had somewhat more free time on my hands (or at least could make more free time) than I did in November and December, so I auditioned, thinking I’d end up being cast in the chorus.  Two days after auditioning, I found out that I had been cast as one of the six lead characters.

We’re currently in the third week of rehearsal for the show.  I’ve been at the college nearly every night, sometimes until midnight, since we started.  Okay, so we haven’t actually rehearsed past 11 yet, but I’ve been hanging out and talking with other cast members.  I’m sure that I’ll be doing less of that once we start going until midnight.  I’m also sure that I’ll end up sleeping at showering at the office when we get closer to performance so that I can get an extra half hour of sleep every night.  So far, I’m really enjoying it and loving the experience of trying something new.

Since it will be occupying a large part of my time, I’m sure I’ll be posting more about it, and I’ll also be sure to mention more about it when it’s nearing time for the performance.

Explore posts in the same categories: Local, Music

Leave a Reply

