The vampires drained me of my dreams.

I visited the vampires gave blood this afternoon.  It went about as usual for me.  I went in.  I scanned the promotional material – aka the dos and don’ts of giving blood.  I passed the mini-physical.  I laid down and asked them to bring me a drink.  I found the prettiest worker to look at and distract me while they poked me.  They stuck me.  I bled – in a contained manner.  I stopped bleeding.  I felt light headed.

Here’s where things went a bit different.  They guy that took my blood asked if I usually get light headed.  I said that I have the past several times.  He told me that giving blood is “probably not your thing” and that I should probably stop doing it.  He went on to say something about my blood sugar dropping that much not being good for my body, but I wasn’t paying much attention because I was too busy passing out.  Okay.  I didn’t really pass out.  I was kinda disappointed though.

I always thought I’d get to 20 or 25 gallons before I stopped.  I’d get my pin that says I’ve donated buckets of blood then I’d start volunteering at blood drives whenever I could.  I had a feeling that one of these times, they’d tell me to stop donating.  I felt it would be well before I hit a bucket, too.  I just didn’t think it would be this soon.  Right now my donor card reads 7 pints.  Oh, I’ve donated more than that.  I gave once in high school.  I donated 5 or 6 pints in college.  I think I even donated a couple of times between college and grad school.  Those were back in the days of the little paper cards and shoddy non-computerized record keeping.  I’m sure I’ve donated at least a gallon and a half, but the Red Cross only has records of my blood letting donations since I moved to Louisville and got a permanent card.  If I follow the advice I was given today, I won’t even get my one gallon pin.  I realize that it’s selfish and petty that I want that pin.  The important thing is that I’ve given blood and helped save lives.  Recognition shouldn’t matter.  I don’t think I’d even wear the pin.  There’s still a part of me that wants it though.  There’s a part of me that says to go back one more time to get that 8th pint and my pin.  There’s a part of me that wants to write to the Red Cross office to get my count fixed.  I don’t like myself for thinking either of those.  I know I should take the advice that I was given today and stop giving; it’s what I’ve known was coming for the past couple donations.  Maybe after a few days go by, it won’t bother me anymore.  They say time heals wounds, but will it heal the lack of one needle prick?

Explore posts in the same categories: Philanthropy

2 Comments on “The vampires drained me of my dreams.”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Don’t listen to that guy. The vampires beg for my mom’s blood, and she passed out. She usually gets lightheaded. However, she is O negative so they care more about getting her blood than a little discomfort. Of course, you should try again. You might do great the next time.


Leave a Reply

